top of page
Search
  • Deviva

Who is this Deviva chick?

Hi there, lovely humans!

You may have stumbled upon this blog and asked yourself who this Deviva gal is and why she feels like she has anything important to say. Well, the truth is that I don't know more than any Jane Doe walking around on the street, but I do have some crazy experiences and learned life lessons I've picked up in my 19 years on this beautiful planet. However, before I dive into these paragraphs that you'll most likely skim annoyedly, I'll list a few of my proud identities that will also give you insight into what topics will be discussed on this blog!

I am a:

-student

-daughter

-sister

-feminist

-vegan (sometimes)

-fitness lover

-dancer

-singer

-poet

-yoga instructor wannabe

-Zumba instructor wannabe

-Spanish and English speaker

-constant learner

-eternal optimist

My name is Devon, but a good friend of mine helped me come up with the pseudonym, Deviva, because I am truly in LOVE with LIFE and viva comes from the root meaning "live!" in Romance languages. I am what most call a dreamer, and as my sister would put it, an unrealistic one at that. I am the kind of person who recognizes so much beauty and wonder in this world that I can't help but want to do EVERYTHING. Why only be a yoga instructor when you can also teach Zumba? Why settle with writing a (most likely unread) blog when you can also start your own (most likely unwatched) YouTube channel? Why only be a dancer when you can also take singing lessons, paint some canvases in your free time, and write poetry? Why have just one major and one minor when you can have two of each? You may have just laughed at some of these questions because yes, I know...they are somewhat ridiculous. However, there is no harm in dreaming BIG dreams and wanting BIG wants. The danger comes when there are too many dreams and wants for anything to get accomplished. That is exactly why I am finally forcing myself to sit in a chair for longer than my typical 2 seconds (without my usual distractions of going for a walk with Mom, baking something marvelous, trying new yoga poses, hopping back into a book that I can never seem to finish, etc.) so I can start this FREAKING BLOG before the first of the year!

So, if you're ready to embark on this wonderfully chaotic and marvelously fantastic journey I call life, then sit right back and grab some popcorn (maybe the salt-free, unbuttered kind if you want to follow the current fad diet). Read on friends, and let me know what you like/dislike about my posts! Please don't think of me as the chick behind the screen. Think of me as your friend, as the hippie-ish eternally optimistic girl that feels the need to spread sunshine everywhere she goes, as the chick that can never stop smiling or laughing, as the dreamer...'cause that's me and I try my best to embrace all of it for all time for all that it is! Dream on, dreamers!

Quote of the day:

"Make today so AWESOME that yesterday gets jealous."

Peace, Love, + Happiness,

Deviva

421 views0 comments
bottom of page