top of page
Search
  • Deviva

3 Things to Contemplate When Life Gets You Down...

Ok. So here's the truth. Life sucks sometimes. It's not all sunshine and rainbows all of the time, and guess what. THAT IS OKAY. Yesterday, for example, was a not-so-hot start to my semester. My first professor of the day informed us that we can only miss 16 points total in order to receive an A in the course, my Spanish professor walked in speaking 10000 words per minute and then proceeded to give us a pop essay on the very first day, and then my advanced jazz dance class made me feel like Patrick Star taking a chemical engineering exam (aka it was absolutely and abhorrently impossible). I then came home, ate a very subpar dorm room dinner, put some potatoes in the oven (all of which I managed to burn to a sad, little crisp), opened my homework planner, and stared at the long list of to-do's in hopeless despair.

So, rather than open up my brand new sociology textbook and flip to page 1 knowing that I will eventually have to get through all 508 annoyingly detailed pages, I instead laid on my dirty dorm floor, opened up my blog, and wrote down 3 THINGS TO THINK OF WHEN YOU'RE DOWN. Read along, lovely people!

1) We all have these days. You know the ones I am talking about...the ones where everything seems to go wrong, the ones where nothing you do is good enough, the ones where you feel like the dumbest person in the room and the clumsiest dancer in the studio, the ones where you just want to curl up into a ball and give up. Even the happiest, most optimistic people (I like to think of myself as one of these) have these days, so trust me when I say you're not alone.

2) Imagine if life was only filled with the good days or only with the positive emotions. Would we forget what true happiness feels like? Would we become numb to all of the positivity and then not fully appreciate the good vibes anymore? The reason good days bring us such bliss is because we know what the opposite feels like. Or what if a roller coaster only went up? Well, first of all, that would be a rather sucky roller coaster, in my opinion, but it also wouldn't work properly. You need the ascent in order to feel that thrilling, life-shattering drop feeling we crave. Life's all about balance. Just think of a Yin and Yang symbol, which demonstrates the way in which good and bad, kind and evil, stress and relaxation, excitement and boredom can and must reside together in peace. So, just know that we have to have these days sometimes in order to create harmony in our lives (and of course, to make the good times seem that much more marvelous)!!!

3) IT IS OKAY TO FEEL LIKE A LOSER. In fact, Thomas Edison had to fail 1,000 times in attempt to make the light bulb before a design finally worked. That is 1,000 days of feeling like a loser, 1,000 days of wanting to curl up into a ball, and 1,000 days of wanting to give up. Another great example is Michael Jordan. He didn't make his high school's basketball team, he missed over 9,000 shots in his professional career (26 of them being the winning shot), and he lost almost 300 games in total. That is a whole lot of failure...but guess what. No one would ever call Michael Jordan a failure, would they? So neither are you.

Well, I hope that was able to brighten your day a bit if you're having one of those tough days. When you're feeling a little down, just remember these 3 things, grab some hot tea, read a good book, hug your best friend, take a hot shower, eat some of that ice cream you never allow yourself to eat, and take some deep breaths. Everything will be okay. You'll see.

Quote of the Day:

Without the dark, we could never see the stars.

Peace, Love, + Happiness,

Deviva

179 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page